Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Great Barrier Reef Tours
36 Tours & Activities
Day Cruises
23 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
158 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns

star-4.5
|
Cairns City, Australia

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon8 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 6 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Enjoy the natural delights of the Great Barrier Reef on an activity cruise from Cairns that gives you several ways to experience this renowned underwater world. After traveling by catamaran to a pontoon moored on the reef, you can observe marine life on a glass-bottom boat or semi-submersible vessel; go snorkeling to spot sea turtles; get your hands wet in the touch pool; upgrade to include a Seawalker Helmet dive; or upgrade to include an introductory or certified scuba dive. Snacks and a buffet lunch are included, and the pontoon is equipped with showers.
  • Full-day Great Barrier Reef cruise
  • See the underwater sights without getting wet from a glass-bottom or semi-submersible vessel
  • Enjoy a hot and cold buffet lunch including fresh seafood
  • Morning and afternoon tea included
Saved to wishlist!
Snorkeling equipment
Glass bottom boat and Semi-Submersible tours (unlimited)
Sunlover waterslide and spacious sun deck
Great Barrier Reef and fish feeding presentations by our marine experts
Underwater observatory and ocean enclosed pool
Lunch
Coffee and/or Tea
WiFi on board
Fresh water showers and change rooms
Environmental Management Charge (EMC)
Additional cost: Wetsuit and prescription snorkel mask
Snacks
Additional cost: Guided Snorkel Tour, Intro or Certified Diving, Seawalker Helmet Dive, Heli Filghts
Additional cost: professional photos or camera hire
Additional cost: Secure lockers
Additional Cost: Lunch for Infants (0-3yrs) can be added for $10 direct with Sunlover
Additional Cost: Hotel Transfers can be added directly with Sunlover

Departure Point

1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Your day on the Great Barrier Reef, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, begins as you depart Cairns by high-speed catamaran, listening to commentary from a marine naturalist about the array of marine life that call the reef home (safety and snorkeling instructions are also provided). Arrive at a spacious pontoon moored on the outer reef, your base for the day, where you can spend your time however you wish to make the most of your experience on the water.

The pontoon is equipped with Wi-Fi, change rooms, and showers. Morning and afternoon tea are provided on board, as is a full buffet lunch that features seafood and tropical fruit. For beverages, you may purchase soft drinks and alcoholic drinks from the onboard bar, as well as additional snacks or ice cream. For protection from the elements, Lycra sun suits are included or you can hire neoprene wetsuits (additional cost); the Great Barrier Reef is home to jellyfish and other stinging species (jellyfish season is November to May).

After ample time on the pontoon, your day trip ends with the return cruise to Cairns.

Included activities

If you prefer to stay dry, take a glass-bottom boat ride or tour by semi-submersible vessel to spot clownfish, starfish, clams, anemone coral and more. Watch a fish-feeding demonstration, and check out the onboard touch tank for a hands-on look at marine life. When you want to cool off, jump in the water with your provided snorkeling equipment to look for resident sea creatures like Dolla the turtle or Wally the hump-headed Maori wrasse. Watch for manta rays, clownfish and maybe even whales in the winter months.  

Optional upgrades

Seawalker Helmet diving: Take a walk on an underwater platform to enjoy the thrill of scuba diving without the scuba requirements. No diving experience is necessary to participate in this guided activity, and numbers are limited to six people per group to provide personalized attention.

Introductory dive: If you’re a beginner scuba diver, take an introductory dive with a group.

Certified dive: If you are an experienced diver, enjoy two certified dives.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Great Barrier Reef
Sunlover's Marine Base at Moore Reef on the Outer Great Barrier Reef is teeming with colourful coral and abundant marine life in every colour of the rainbow.
Duration: 4 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Fitzroy Island
On our Moore Reef Daily experience we make a brief stop enroute and on the way back from the reef to pick up and drop off passengers. Fitzroy Island is favourite trip for Cairns' locals with 99% of its landscape covered in lush tropical rainforest as well as granite outcrops, open woodlands, mangroves and coral beaches. Learn more about the marine life of the Great Barrier Reef with a visit to Cairns Turtle Rehabilitation Centre or the Reef Restoration coral nursery, take a bushwalk to the Summit or Lighthouse, snorkel straight off the beach or simply relax on the sandy shores of the famous Nudey Beach - voted the best beach in Australia. Inquire about our Fitzroy Island Transfers, which give you 6 hours to explore this paradise. Or, for the ultimate tropical island and reef experience combine it with a Moore Reef Daily cruise and save.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Minimum age is 12 years for SCUBA diving and Seawalker Helmet dive
  • Please ensure you bring your dive certification for Certified SCUBA dives
  • All dives are subject to an on board medical checklist, please contact us for more information.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 340 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Sunlover Reef Cruises

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 340 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Outer Reef Pontoon Experience from Cairns.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "You wear a life-jacket so even if you are not confident in the water it's not a problem." See review
  • "It costs extra, but I would do it all over again." See review
  • "Seasickness pills are a great suggestion, as there were a lot of people suffering." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
246 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 246 reviews
star-5
Awesome Experience.
Chris_Ray
, Jan 2021
The whole day was awesome and all the staff were fantastic and extremely helpful. They were tireless in assisting all the passengers ensuring we all were safe and enjoyed the experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Awesome day trip experience
himani_p
, Jan 2021
It was an awesome day experience. Whole team and staff was very good and supportive. My snorkelling guide was a wonderful person and made my snorkelling experience very good and comfortable (as i am a non swimmer and afraid of water.) I would love to recommend this to family and friends.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience
Vibol_H
, Dec 2020
It was a great family experience. The hosts were quite organised and experienced. Snorkeling at the pontoon was amazing the only regret was not able to go on the glass bottom boat because having to much fun snorkeling.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you for your review Vibol_H! How wonderful to hear that you had such a great time snorkelling, however unfortunate that you missed the glass bottom boat tour times. The beautiful, healthy coral and abundant marine life at our Moore Reef pontoon are well renowned, and I totally understand how time can fly by when you are surrounded by such immense natural beauty! We hope you will come back and experience the reef with Sunlover again in the future! Best wishes and safe travels, Amy
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
It was ok very expensive for what was on offer nothing like ten years ago when we first did the reef experience.😢
Virginia_D
, Dec 2020
Did this tour ten years ago must say the standard has dropped from what I remember the lunch box was horrible I had an Eleven year old boy who was given a child box he was still starving. Did not get our photos at the end of the day was not told where to pick them up from.The Reef was amazing that was the only high light.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us based on your recent trip to Moore Reef pontoon. Indeed a lot has changed in the last 10 years, and more specifically in the last year. More so that ever, Sunlover are committed our mission to provide an incredible, family friendly Great Barrier Reef experience. Your feedback regarding the lunch will be passed onto our Senior Management, we are continually reviewing our catering offering and will take your comments on board. Photos are an optional extra purchase, if you would like to purchase photos please get in touch with me I can assist you in arranging digital copies of your images. I'm sorry this was not clearly communicated to you. The reef at our Moore Reef pontoon is healthy, vibrant and teeming with marine life, we are very happy to hear that it was a highlight for you. Best wishes and safe travels, Amy
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Too short
Sheng_G
, Dec 2020
Snorkeling was the best part, and the guided snorkeling tour was good. Amazing experience with the reef and fishes.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thanks for your feedback Sheng_G! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the snorkelling and the Guided Snorkel Tour - it is one of our most popular optional extras, our marine experts know all of the best spots in our snorkelling area! With all of the great activities to experience at our Moore Reef pontoon, we agree that the time can go very quickly. With between 3.5-4 hours at the reef, we hope you will come back and visit again! Best wishes and safe travels, Amy
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Disappointed
Jennifer_B
, Nov 2020
The experience was not as advertised. No submersible, only 4 glass bottom boat tours. No buffet lunch- just a half wrap with a weird potato onion side, cake and zucchini slice . The crew did little to help those poor soles who were very seasick. The vessel itself could do with a makeover. Torn cushions etc
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Hi Jennifer, your feedback as been received and passed onto our management team. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed wiht your Sunlover experience. Unfortunately due to the impacts of COVID we have had to make changes to our operating to be aligned with health and safety requirements that are mandated by the government to ensure safety for all. This has seen us unable to offer a buffet lunch, and we have provided an alternative that we have received favourable feedback about. Im sorry this did not meet your expectation. We were also unable to offer semi-submersible tours for some time due to strict social distancing protocols that were in place however we have since been able to safely recommence these tours. Glass bottom boat tours are offered to all guests, and the amount of glass bottom boat tours run is dictated by the number of passengers travelling to the Great Barrier Reef, to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to experience the Glass bottom boat. We have a robust maintenance schedule and are constantly making upgrades and improvements to our vessels, and I have flagged the upholstery as an item to be addressed. We thank you for your feedback and hope you will giving consider Sunlover Reef Cruises another chance in the future to deliver an amazing Great Barrier Reef experience for you. Best wishes, Amy
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
HELMET WALK
Vicky
, Nov 2020
This was a day full of adventure and new experiences. The Pontoon was amazing. We snorkelled, we went on the water slide that just through you out into the water, the glass bottom boat allowed you to see the Coral up close. But best of all was the HELMET WALK, this is the best experience I have ever had. If you are scared of scuba diving, you MUST do the HELMET WALK. It costs extra, but I would do it all over again.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Hello Vicky! We'd like to extend a huge thanks to you for leaving a review for us! Its great to hear that you enjoyed our included activities like the glass bottom boat and waterslide - there is so much do experience at our Moore Reef pontoon! The Seawalker Helmet dive is out of this world, isnt it? I hope you got a chance to meet some of our curious resident marine life - Wally, the Maori Wrasse, absolutely loves saying Hello to our Seawalkers! We hope you will come back and visit the Great Barrier Reef with Sunlover again soon. Best wishes, Amy
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Best trip yet
Darryl_P
, Nov 2020
The trip was great staff helpful reef great best I seen so far lunch was good enjoyed the trip out smooth waters conditions were perfect ship clean good service staff friendly.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Gday Darryl_P, Its wonderful to hear that you loved your Sunlover experience. We are incredibly fortunate to be able to bring our visitors to explore such a beautiful section of the Great Barrier Reef at our Moore Reef pontoon. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to commend our crew for delivering 5-star service. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Amy
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Barrier Reef Experience
Rick
, Mar 2020
Awesome adventure! Perfect day of weather and calm seas. The crew were very helpful. We did the guided snorkel safari and it was amazing and very much worth the additional cost Our guide was very knowledgeable about everything we were seeing. It was perfect for those who are not comfortable with snorkeling. The lunch buffet was good. I recommend Sunlover's wholeheartedly. We were one of two couples traveling together and had a wonderful day!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great place, top service.
Discover49305353170
, Oct 2019
Absolutely loved this tour of Great Barrier Reef, boat ride out to the reef was steady, got to the pontoon & was given various choices of how you want to see the reef. We chosen the glass bottom boat which is brilliant & would recommend those who are none or not strong swimmers to use this as you wouldn't miss anything out. Great food on the boat & plenty to drink so you wouldn't get dehydrated. Great staff & very friendly. I would recommend & use them again.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Product code: 5851MR

Explore Similar Things to Do