Recent Searches
Clear

Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

|
Roma, Italy
Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 8 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Take a Rome hop-on hop-off tour by open-top bus, and spend time city sightseeing as you travel past attractions such as the Colosseum and Vatican City. Relax aboard the double-decker Rome tour bus, listen to the audio commentary and hop on and off at any of the stops. Select a sightseeing ticket that’s valid for 24 or 48 hours, or pick an upgrade option to include entry to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Roman Forum and more.
  • Create a personalized sightseeing itinerary and explore Rome at leisure
  • Hop on and off as many times as you wish at any of the eight stops
  • Listen to interesting onboard audio commentary as you travel
  • Upgrade a 48-hour ticket to include entrance to the Colosseum and Roman Forum, the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel, or entrance to all four

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Upgrade the 48-hour pass to include skip-the-line entry to 4 major attractions.
Saved to wishlist!
Onboard audio guide in eight different languages
Free Wi-Fi onboard bus
Mobile free App “Sightseeing Experience
Skip the Line entrance at Colosseum ( if selected )
Skip the Line entrance at Vatican ( if selected )
Skip the Line entrance at St. Peter's Basilica ( if option selected)
Guided tour at Colosseum ( if selected )
Guided tour at Vatican Museum ( if selected )
Entrance fees to sights (unless specified)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
Rome has a bounty of things to see and the mix of its architecture is testament to its past; Roman ruins, baroque squares and Renaissance gardens combine to give the city its enticing edge. See it all on a Rome hop-on hop-off bus tour, and learn about the Italian capital as you go.

Show your ticket as you board your Rome tour bus, and then hop on and off at any of the eight stops around town. See the Colosseum where gory gladiatorial battles once took place, and have your camera ready for Piazza Venezia, home to the Vittorio Emanuele II Monument. Throw a coin into the Trevi Fountain for luck, or stretch your legs on a walk through Vatican City.

The full loops lasts between 1.5 and 2 hours, and audio commentary is provided for each sight you pass. Make use on the free onboard Wi-Fi to share pictures, tweet or blog about your travels as you go.

48-Hour Pass with Skip-the-Line Tickets to Palatine Hill, the Roman Forum and Colosseum:

Upgrade to include fast-track admission to three of Rome’s top attractions. The Colosseum ticket includes access to the ancient arena’s first and second tiers. The Roman Forum, with its timeworn temples and ruins, and Palatine Hill are both within walking distance of the Colosseum.

48-Hour Pass with Entry to the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums:

Book this option to include entry to these world-famous Vatican City sights. Explore the vast museum complex, with its unrivaled hoard of artwork, at your leisure. Then step inside the sacred Sistine Chapel to see the frescoes of Michelangelo.

48-Hour Pass with Entry to the Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museums, Palatine Hill, Roman Forum and Colosseum:

Maximize your time sightseeing Rome and upgrade to include entry to all these top Rome attractions.
Itinerary
Duration: 
1 hour 30 minutes
Operating Schedule:
  Every day - From 9.00 am till 6.00 pm ( last departure )
Via Marsala, 7
Terminal A
Largo di Villa Perpetti
Terminal B
Via dell'Esquilino, 11
Stop n.2 Santa Maria Maggiore
Via di San Gregorio
Stop n.3 Colosseo
Piazzale Ugo la Malfa
Stop n. 4 Circo Massimo
Via del Teatro di Marcello, 12
Stop n.5 Piazza Venezia
Lungotevere Tor di Nona, 7
Stop n. 6 Vaticano
Via Ludovisi, 47
Stop n.7 Piazza di Spagna
Via Barberini, 2
Stop n. 8 Piazza Barberini
Points of interest passed by on this route
Trevi Fountain
 
Circus Maximus
 
Piazza Venezia
 
Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
 
Colosseum
 
Piazza Barberini
 
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II
 
Vatican City
 
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The Admission to the Colosseum is valid only on the date shown on the voucher.
  • Rome Municipality Authority may impose new regulations and restricted access for all hop-on hop-off tours in the city of Rome without warning. It could impact the number of stops available and/or your journey on this tour; the exact itinerary will be advised on the day of travel
  • On Sundays and selected public holidays (Easter) traffic might be restricted in certain areas of Rome. Stops affected frequently include Colosseo or Circo Massimo
  • Wheelchair accessible (lower level only); electric wheelchairs cannot be accommodated for technical reasons. The most accessible boarding point is Via Marsala (Termini Station)
  • Please note that Vatican Museum is close on Sundays and selected public holidays
  • Avoid wearing too short trousers and low-cut tops, cover legs and shoulders.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Open Bus and Tours booking vouchers can to be exchanged at any open bus stops directly on board of the bus. at least 2 hours before entrance time. You will be given tickets for Open Bus and instructions for the attractions.
  • Make sure you are at the meeting point communicated by our onboard at least 15 minutes before the selected time slot.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • OPERATED BY Sightseeing Experience
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Don't use this if you schedule an appointment for a tour." See review
  • "Go on the first day of your tour and not before because the vouchers will start as soon as you get onto the bus ." See review
  • "The buses are frequent so not long to wait until one comes along." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
4,923 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 4,923 reviews
star-5
Great historical features, amazing.
Angelo_S
, Aug 2022
Although all our tours with Viator on this trip were great, this we found to be one of our better ones. This was due to the history, and information provided by our guide. Our guide was great and knowledgeable, but the scene and elements of the tour were fabulous.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that our tour met your expectations!
star-3
Good way to cover alot of ground
ramanda_s
, Aug 2022
Good information, easy to use, head phones were provided. Unfortunaltey it was extremely hot, which nade the experience quite uncomfortable. There was air conditioning on the first level, althought the view from above is much better, so weather permitting changes the trip! The loading/unloading procedure seemed to comsune alot of the time just sitting there. We were in a group of 6 and learned after 1 person wanted to get off to do their own thing we had to do everything together, because of the way the ticket was issued, which was disappointing. Also, I wish the operator would have intervened when we were being heckled by gypies to buy face mask, stating we need one to get on the bus, which wasn't true, menawhile the operator seemed to be in on it. Overall it is a great way to cover alot of territory!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that thanks to our service you have been able to discover Rome, despite this we are sorry for your inconvenience. We kindly ask you to write to info@city_sightseeing.it specifying the day of the trip and the bus stop where this described fact occurred so that we can proceed with the necessary internal investigations, thanks.
star-5
Good option
John_M
, Aug 2022
Excellent value for money and a great way to get around rome. Commentary was informative and humorous.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that our tour met your expectations!
star-1
Screwed by the company
Mollie_B
, Aug 2022
We were sold a combo tour for bud and colleseum. Turns out the earliest bus wasn’t early enough to get us to our tour on time. We called customer service and was told to expect a refund, so we booked another tour through the company and attended that tour. Then, we received an email that we were getting no refund.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi, sorry for your bad review. The ticket for the hop-on hop-off service is valid 24h or 48h (depending on the fare chosen) from the moment of validation and the timetable is clearly visible on our website together with the map. If a time of entry to the Colosseum has not been chosen in accordance with the clearly visible times, a refund is not possible. However, we recommend that you contact inforoma@city-sightseeing.it directly.
star-4
Good for overview
William_H
, Aug 2022
I like most hop on hop off tours. Rome is such a large city that it takes a long time to go between stops and they seemed to wait a long time at each stop. It was very hot so sitting up top was uncomfortable but the view is better
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. Your comment will help us improve our service.
star-1
Too crowded. Could not get on the bus
Nader_I
, Jul 2022
I booked the 48 hour tour with my family. The first day was arrival to Rome. By the time we waited in the smoldering heat for almost an hour and got to the bus, we discovered that it was the last bus of the day and we couldn’t even return to the point where we started. The second day, the lines were long at our stop (Santa Maria Maggore), in very hot unshaded sun, and not enough buses coming by. When we finally got to the bus, there were no space for us and we were told to wait for the next bus in the same miserable conditions. We already waited for almost an hour in the line. We ended walking to the Coliseum. Bottom line, we ended with a partial tour on day one, and we could not get on the bus on day two. ThisI has been a waste of money and I wish I never signed up.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, we're sorry you didn't use your ticket in full. Fortunately, many tourists are returning to our wonderful cities to discover the Italian artistic heritage, so the people who choose our services are more and more and we thank them for this. By purchasing the hop on hop off ticket for Rome on our official website, you can also use the buses of the companies that collaborate with us, significantly increasing the frequency. We also advise our customers to consult the status of the buses in real time in order to avoid long waits.
star-1
Staff needs further training how to behave with their clients!!
AnaMaria_I
, Jul 2022
The staff who were at the station to change our tickets(at 11:21am) was very rude, moving us from left to right at the station, without explaining what was happening. When I asked and told him that it did not seem normal to me such behavior and no quality of his service, he said that he doesn't care. Very disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, we are sorry for your experience with our staff in Rome. In the hope that our Hop-on Hop-off tour has been to your liking, we will investigate what happened because the training of our staff is one of our priorities. Thanks for sharing your experience.
star-5
Great tour bus.
Sarah_P
, Jul 2022
Good amount of stops, by the top attractions. Shame it starts at 9am, as we had to arrange additional transport to early tours. But lovely welcoming staff, would recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that our tour met your expectations and that you were able to visit the beauties of Rome in comfort!
star-5
Just nice to ride around....
Donna_S
, Jul 2022
Just nice to ride around. Sights were beautiful. Didn't have to do much walking and attendants were helpful.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that our tour met your expectations!
star-5
Marta was very helpful....
Suzanne_C
, Jul 2022
Marta was very helpful. The group did not wait in line at all. Everything was very smooth and a spectacular day!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that the training of our staff has allowed you to discover Rome in safety and comfort!
star-3
Not As Good in Rome as Other Cities
kevin_p
, Jul 2022
We have used this type of transportation before in other European cities but this time the closest bus stop was a pretty good walk from our Hotel and seemed to stop in places along the route that required a bit of a walk to get anywhere tourist areas.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. Your comment will help us improve our service to always offer better tours to our customers.
star-4
Good experience!
Lorelei_L
, Jul 2022
This was overall a good experience! The bus operator was friendly and helpful, the recorded guide was informative about each of the stops and locations we were passing along the way. Some confusion about who the tour operator was and which bus to get on. This tour bus is co-operated with another different bus. We ended up getting on a different bus and were told we could get our tickets when we got off at a stop and got on the other bus. This worked out fine in the end - we got off at a stop and got on the other bus where we did get our tickets. It was just a bit confusing.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience! Your comment will be useful to improve our service.
star-4
Hostess with the mostest
Logan_R
, Jul 2022
Everything you'd except from a hop on hop off. When there was an issue with our tour that was bundled with the bus. The employees did an absolutely incredible job fixing the issue. Viator was not nearly as helpful so Bravo to the hostesses for they're determination in getting our issue resolved.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. Our staff is always available to find solutions to any problems and we are happy that thanks to our offer you have been able to discover the beauties of Rome.
star-1
I would not torture myself through it again
JENNIFER_P
, Jul 2022
The seats were tilted forward and very very hard. Little or no air while the windows were screwed shut. Oh, and did I mention that the volume was stuck on low? How could I hear any thing? I couldn’t. Waste of time
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, we are sorry for your bad experience. Your feedback will be useful to improve our service.
star-1
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
Melissa_A
, Jul 2022
WASTE OF MONEY!!! You are better off taking a taxi to each main attraction. The bus for this tour passes by every 55 minutes. Completely not worth the money. Most hop on hop off tours have busses running every 15-30 mins max. this was absolutely ridiculous!! Definitely do not recommend and will never purchase this again. If I could give 0 stars I would.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, we are sorry for your bad experience. We always advise our customers to check the real-time status of our buses on our free official app to avoid long waits. By purchasing tickets for the hop-on hop-off on our official website it is also possible to use other tourist buses in collaboration with City Sightseeing to further reduce waiting times.
star-1
Waste of money
gabe_s
, Jun 2022
If I could I would rate this a zero, not even a 1. Terrible schedule. Doesn’t start till 9 am, buses every 45 min, ridiculous schedule. Stops are too few and far between from attractions. Staff good. Spend your money on another bus service, taxi or local transit… Had 48 hr. pass….didn’t even use it second day.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, we are sorry for your bad experience. The route of our Hop-on Hop-off service in Rome touches the main attractions such as the Colosseum, the Altare della Patria, Piazza del Popolo, Piazza di Spagna etc. We advise our customers to consult the status of the buses in real time on our official app to avoid waiting.
star-3
Was meh in my option.
Elizabeth_N
, Jun 2022
Overall I wasn't impressed with this tour. The audio guides were sometimes hard to understand. It was difficult to take pictures from the bus despite being at the top and honestly, had to spend more time getting off and on to see the good sites because you couldn't see them from the bus. If you want the information and willing to get on/off, its a decent tour. Next time, I think I'll just get a metro day pass to get around to see the sites in a less expensive way and rely on the tour book for info.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience.
star-1
You’ll waste your day waiting for a bus!
pwdisney
, Jun 2022
Horrible experience! After being told it was only 10-minutes for the next bus arrival, we waited 40-minutes. We followed the interactive map online, and there were only 4-buses showing in the city. After 40-minutes, one was still not near us so we took taxi’s to move around the city. We were told our pass was for citysightseeing bus only, while other tickets were also valid for the big red bus, which had many more buses running. If you want to do a hop on hop off tour, I don’t recommend this one. Do any of the others, as they all had several buses come and go while we waited for this one.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi, we are sorry that you have not been able to use your ticket for our buses. With the integrated ticket he could have used both company buses as specified on our official website thanks to our local agreement.
star-2
Great city, horribly aggressive staff
Sean_A
, Jun 2022
The city archictur is wonderful however the extremely aggressive attitude of the individual that checked us onto the bus completely ruined the experience for us. Never again this company !! If you can‘t be friendly to the people rhat pay your salary, look for a different line of work!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi, we are sorry for your bad experience. Since the training of our staff is one of our priorities, we invite you to write to info@sightseeing-experience.com telling us what actually happened on the bus and what you were checked for. In this way we will be able to proceed with the appropriate checks.
star-4
Nice bus ride.
Richard_D
, Jun 2022
Nice bus ride and after a busy day of touring Rome my daughter and I feel asleep but woke up at our stop. The staff were nice and professional, and I liked the plug-in earphones to the tour. I originally booked it as an alternative to taking a taxi, but I don't recommend using it for that purpose but do recommend the hop on hop off bus tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that our offer has met your expectations and has allowed you and your daughter to discover the beauties of Rome in comfort!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

star-3.54923

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.03

star-455

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$28.66

star-3.5223

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$15.15

star-3.51022

1 hour 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.03

star-528

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$20.77

star-3.511

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$29.07
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations